Skip to main content


Five Implementation Participation Groups (IPG’s) have been established to support the work of the Youth Work Strategy Implementation Board (YWSIB). These groups are:

  • looking in depth at specific areas and topics
  • considering evidence
  • advising on next steps in the development of the interim board’s recommendations

Each IPG is chaired by a YWSIB member. Members were invited to join IPGs by submitting an expression of interest. These were reviewed by the Chair, ensuring each group included representatives with a range of perspectives and expertise.

The current membership of the IPGs includes the following individuals:

Strategic Engagement and Communications IPG

  • Tim Opie, WLGA
  • Paul Glaze, CWVYS
  • Ellie Parker, CWVYS
  • Hayley Douglas, Wrexham Glyndŵr University
  • Julia Rooney, Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Bethan Stacey, Education Workforce Council
  • Gayle Harris, Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs of Wales
  • Melanie Ryan, Youth Cymru
  • Sian Tomos, GISDA and YWSIB member
  • Christy Hoskings, NHS Wales
  • Dave Williams, NHS Wales
  • Jen Horton, NHS Wales
  • Millie Boswell, Welsh Government
  • Dyfan Evans, Welsh Government
  • Kirsty Harrington, Welsh Government

Youth Information and Digital IPG

  • Marco Gil-Cervantes, Pro-Mo Cymru and YWSIB member (Chair)
  • Hefin Lloyd, Carmarthenshire County Council
  • Dayle Luce, Cardiff Council
  • Shannon Lacey, Youth Cymru
  • Andrew Collins, Pro-Mo Cymru
  • Lyndsey Thomas, GISDA
  • Abbie Davies, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
  • Geraint Turner, Swansea MAD
  • Ellie Parker, CWVYS
  • Manon Williams, CWVYS
  • Faith Walker, Friends of Cymru Sickle Cell and Thalessaemia
  • Nia Owen, Cyngor Gwynedd
  • Nirushan Sudarsan, Grange Pavilion Youth Forum
  • Peter Williams, Vale of Glamorgan Council Youth Service
  • Sarah Jarrold, Welsh Government
  • Dyfan Evans, Welsh Government

Welsh Language IPG

  • Lowri Jones, Menter Iaith Sir Caerffili and YWSIB member (Chair)
  • Wenna Pritchard, Youth Cymru
  • Bedwyr Harries, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
  • Catrin James, Urdd Gobaith Cymru/CWVYS
  • Branwen Niclas, CWVYS
  • Sian Tomos, GISDA and YWSIB member
  • Grant Poiner, Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs of Wales
  • Dyfan Evans, Welsh Government

Young People are Thriving IPG

  • David Williams, Torfaen Council and YWSIB member (Chair)
  • Mary Eaton, Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council
  • Gareth Kiff, Estyn (Observer)
  • Gwion Bowe, Ceredigion County Council
  • Rachel Benson, Swansea MAD
  • Amanda Everson, CWYVYS
  • Rebekah Burns, St John Ambulance Cymru
  • Jess Achilleos, Wrexham Glyndŵr University
  • Shahinoor Shumon, YWSIB member
  • Vicky Allen, Welsh Government

Workforce Development IPG

  • Jo Sims, Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council and YWSIB member (Chair)
  • Steve Drowley, ETS Wales
  • Liz Rose, ETS Wales (Secretariat)
  • Craig Mathews, Wrexham County Borough Council
  • Hayden Llewellyn, Education Workforce Council
  • Rachel Burton, Adult Learning Wales
  • Rowan Hodgkinson, Agored Cymru
  • Gareth Kiff, Estyn (Observer)
  • Catrin James, Urdd Gobaith Cymru/CWVYS
  • Tara Reddy, Vale of Glamorgan Council
  • Emma Chivers, National Academy for Educational Leadership
  • Christian Webb, Brook/Cathays Community Centre
  • Matt Parry, Llamau
  • Josh Klein, Monmouthshire County Council
  • Tim Opie, WLGA
  • Donna Robins, Welsh Government