Skip to main content

A surfer, a police officer and former martial arts fighter have today been named among the 2020 St David Awards finalists by First Minister Mark Drakeford.

First published:
13 February 2020
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The St David Awards are Wales’s national awards, which celebrate the extraordinary achievements of the people of Wales.

Announcing the finalists, the First Minister said:

“I am honoured to name the 2020 St David Awards finalists – what an inspiring group of people we are lucky to have living and working in Wales!

“The awards are a celebration of the people who make Wales a better place to live. Each of the finalists have made a big difference, from saving a life, to overcoming adversity, inspiring others, or supporting a community.

“Every single of our St David Awards finalists are truly exceptional and a credit to our nation. I look forward to celebrating their achievements at the awards ceremony on Thursday 19 March.”

The award categories are: Bravery; Culture; Business; Innovation, Science and Technology; Sport and Young Person, as well as 2 new categories: Community Spirit, and Humanitarian.

The final award, the First Minister’s Special Award, is chosen by the First Minister and the winner will be announced at the ceremony in March.

The finalists are:


DC Jessica Hanley

Jo Morris

Joel Snarr and Daniel Nicholson


Adrian Emmett


Penderyn Whiskey

Tŷ-Mawr Lime

Community Spirit

Community Furniture Aid

Dr Howell Edwards

Wasem Said


Blaenau Gwent Film Academy

Ifor ap Glyn

Russell T Davies


Emma Lewis

Rachel Williams

Robin Jenkins

Innovation, Science and Technology

Aber Instruments Ltd

GAMA Healthcare and Cardiff University

Professor David Worsley


Alun Wyn Jones

SportCheer Wales

Wales Transplant Team

Young Person

Alexander Anderson

Michael Bryan

Tyler Ford