Skip to main content

The winners of Wales’s national St David Awards 2020 have been announced online by First Minister Mark Drakeford.

First published:
17 June 2020
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

This year’s awards were originally scheduled to be held in March but were postponed because of the coronavirus pandemic.

In a message to all the St David Awards recipients, the First Minister said he hoped the “everyday but extraordinary” winners will find comfort in their recognition.

The award categories are: Bravery, Humanitarian, Community Spirit, Young Person, Innovation, Science and Technology, Business, Culture, Sport and the First Minister’s Special Award.

This year’s special award winner is former international rugby player Gareth Thomas, who now campaigns against stigma around sexuality and HIV.

The First Minister said:

“What is most captivating is that all of our nominees think their actions are nothing to sing about. Well they are. They are everyday people doing extraordinary things that have helped to change lives for the better. I am honoured to recognise them in our national St David Awards.

“I have chosen Gareth Thomas for my Special Award as he is a role model for people of all ages, but particularly young people. He has been open and honest about his sexuality and his HIV status and his story has been inspiring. His approach will help break down barriers and stereotypes, increase understanding and will help others in a similar situation to never be ashamed of who they are.” 

The St David Award 2020 winners are:

Joel Snarr and Daniel Nicholson – Bravery award

Moneypenny – Business award

Wasem Said – Community spirit award

Russell T Davies – Culture award

Rachel Williams – Humanitarian award

Professor David Worsley – Innovation, Science and Technology award

Alun Wyn Jones – Sport award

Tyler Ford – Young person award

Gareth Thomas - First Minister's Special Award